2018 Hall of Fame Inductees

January 2nd, 2018 | by justin

The following individuals were selected for the 2018 class of honorees for the British Sports Car Hall of Fame, which will be inducted on June 2, 2018.

Joe Alexander – The owner of Alexander Racing Enterprises and a founding member of the Friends of Triumph.

Chuck Anderson – One of the founding members of the Austin-Healey Club of America and a leading proponent of the marque in the United States.

Clive Baker – A championship level factory driver who made competed at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, 12 Hours of Sebring, Nurburgring and the Targa Florio in Austin-Healeys, Chevrons, Lotuses, McLarens and MGs.

W.O. Bentley – The founder of Bentley Motors and the designer of a number of legendary aircraft and automotive engines.

David Brown – The owner of Aston Martin who was central to the marque’s successful assault of the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the namesake of one of the most iconic sports car series ever produced.

Colin Chapman – The founder of Lotus Cars and a legendary sports and racing car builder. Under his direction, Team Lotus won the Formula One Constructors Championship seven times and the Drivers Championship six times, as well as the Indianapolis 500.

Anders Ditlev Clausager – As the Archivist for the British Motor Industry Heritage Trust he ensured that the history of British automobiles was preserved for future generations. He is also the author of several seminal publications that are considered the Gold Standard in their niche.

Joseph Curto – Revered and respected around the world, he is considered the world’s foremost authority on carburetors for British sports cars.

Richard “Dickie” Green – A key member of the Aston Martin racing team in the 1950s, he later held important management positions with Rover, British Leyland and Jaguar Cars.

Geoffrey Healey – The engineering genius behind his father’s legendary automobiles, he was also a formidable driver who competed in the Mille Miglia on several occasions.

Paddy Hopkirk – A rally and racing legend, he had unprecedented success in various British sports cars including wins on the Monte Carlo, Alpine, Acropolis and Austrian Alpine rallies. He is currently the President of the British Racing Drivers Club.

Tom Householder – A true anorak, he is famous for his devotion to the Swallow Doretti and has dedicated his life to preserving and promoting the marque and its singular model.

Joe Huffaker – One of America’s most successful racer constructors, he created a string of successful sports and formula racers, including those that ran at the Indianapolis 500 from 1964 to 1966. He also won several SCCA Championships for MG, Triumph, Jaguar and Jensen-Healey.

Al Moss – Founded Moss Motors in 1948, which grew to become the world’s largest supplier of parts for British sports cars.

Pat Moss – One of the most successful rally drivers in history, she was crowned the European Ladies Champion five times and had three outright wins and seven podium finishes during her illustrious racing career.

Bill Piggott – A distinguished author and motoring historian, he has written more than a dozen books, including several examples that are considered the best in their class.

Carroll Shelby – The legendary racer, designer and showman who is best known for his iconic Cobra, he started his career in an MG TC before moving on to various Allards and Aston Martins, including the DBR1 that he piloted to an overall victory at the 1959 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Kjell Qvale – Responsible for the sale of more British sports cars than anyone else in North America, he also helped found the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance and is credited with the layout for the corkscrew at Laguna Seca Raceway.

Rex Woodgate – Started as a racing mechanic for Aston Martin, he later directed the company’s North American competition program and as the US Operations Manager, almost single-handedly kept the marque alive there during the 1970s.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *